Type I // Paragraph / Final

Final A3 Paragraph

Paragraph - Vertical A3.jpg

  • I activated the page by separating the paragraph into three parts that are spread around the page.
  • I broke up the paragraph according to the contents of the paragraph. The top right part talks about the universe. In the bottom left, one talks about the earth and the other is about nature.
  • I placed the universe part on top, because space is above earth.
  • The spacing between the parts is also linked to the physical space between them. The two thirds spacing is between the universe and earth, because the space between them is more than earth and nature, which is why the one third spacing is between earth and nature, because they are closer to each other.
  • I chose to make it vertical, so that I can place the largest amount of space between the first and second part of the paragraph; the universe and earth.
  • The number of lines in each part counts down to create the order of how you would read the poem.
  • I used Palatino, because the rounded form of the letters lends itself well to the organic form of nature.
  • I increased the leading so that it achieves the fifty percent grey when printed, because the letters are small and not tracked out with kashida.
  • The average character length is 65, which allows you to read it comfortably.
  • I optically adjusted the author’s name by moving it a bit off alignment to the right, because the em dash made it look a bit to the left of the alignment line.

Final A4 Paragraph

Paragraph - Horizontal A4.jpg

  • I wanted to achieve ‘less is more’ with this composition. So I separated the three parts of the paragraph; universe, earth and nature, by a single line spacing. However I placed a double space between the last part and the author’s name to distinguish the poem from the name.
  • I placed the paragraph in the top right corner, because that’s the organic way of reading Arabic.
  • I broke the right alignment with the author’s name by left aligning it to the end of the paragraph.
  • To continue with doing more with less, I scaled up the words Universe and Earth to the same size. I set Nature to a two point size smaller than the two words, because both the Universe and Earth are apart of nature.
  • I used Helvetica Neue Arabic, because the rounded form of the letters works well with the organic form of nature. It’s simplicity also directs the attention to the content of the poem itself and the highlighted words, rather than the form of the typeface.
  • The type size and the kashida helped achieve the fifty percent grey. Because the kashida helps add more whitespace between the letters, so it balances out the black of the type.
  • I choose to place two verses in each line, because that’s how a normal poem would be set. However I changed it by removing the gap that’s normally between each verse. So I used that element of how poems are set to determine the line length.

Things I Learned & Discovered:

  • Because we had more experience with composing text from the sentence project, it was faster to get the hang of this and I was able to finish it faster.

  • I started to automatically place the text within intervals, and found myself always considering the spacing between each part and the edges.
  • Kashidas are useful in creating fully justified paragraphs, and good ragged edges without creating rivers. It also helps in achieving the fifty precent grey contrast for the text.
  • Creating type systems to create compositions helped me become more efficient and manage my time better.
Leave a Reply

