M+P // Signs / Week 4

I tried using other material instead of the illustrated car, like the red gitrah, metal tread texture, and red tire tracks that I made by folding red paper. They didn’t really work well instead of the car, they made the sign more abstract, and the type of car wasn’t clear anymore, and since it was a local sign, I wanted the car to look like the cars they use to drift here.

Leland suggested that I try cropping the sign to focus on the man, because it was what really made this sign local, because it’s only in this region where men stand on a drifting car. I made the size of the sign rectangular to try and fit in the wheels, and I tried cropping it as a square. I preferred the square because it would fit in with the rest of the signs, and I think that the angled car and the horizontal man communicate drifting without the need to see the wheel off the road.cars 2_Page_01.jpgI tried to use the materials again, but this time I placed them in the hand in the vernacular sign. I liked how the red gitrah lends itself to the vernacular of the Qatari men, and how the red color in the gitrah represents the “no drifting”.cars 2_Page_02.jpgLeland also pointed out that the silhouette in the local sign looked very stiff, and suggested I try finding a better one to use. So I looked online and found an image of a guy on a drifting car doing the peace sign that wasn’t very straight and confined.  The new silhouette made the sign look much more realistic, since the silhouette is a much more realistic way of how they act.

Sign Rough Draft 5-27.jpg

I then experimented with different ways to say ‘no drifting’ other than the hand.  I made the headlights red, and used a red flag that is used in races to say stop. However the professors thought that the red hand worked better. I thought so too because this was the concrete sign and the ‘no’ part is supposed to be really clear.cars 2_Page_03.jpgI then experimented with the red hand by reducing it’s opacity, so that the car would show from under it, by changing it’s position to cover the wheels or to cover the car. I think it worked better covering the car, so that people understand no drifting rather than no drifting on two wheels.cars 2_Page_04.jpgFor the vernacular, Leland suggested I try placing it between buildings instead of the desert. So I placed it in a neighborhood with the Doha skyline in the back. So that it represents that drifting is not allowed in both areas; small neighborhoods and the city. Because in those places, people can actually get hurt, where as in the desert the people drifting are the only ones who would get hurt.cars 2_Page_05.jpgI then started refining the last details of my signs. For the vernacular, I previously used an image from the internet that wasn’t good quality, because I wasn’t at home when there was sunlight, so I couldn’t really take a well lit photo of the car. After I shoot the car, the resolution, colors and lighting were much better.

Final Sign 1-05.jpg

For the concrete sign, they suggested I reduce the size of the hands, since they were two big on the last one. So I tried two different scales. I preferred the slightly smaller one because the hands were aligned with the road.cars 2_Page_06.jpgAfter looking at all my signs I realized that my abstract sign was missing the ‘no’ and was just a sign for drifting. So I changed some of the tire marks to red to represent the ‘no’. cars 2_Page_07.jpgLooking at the sign line up also made me notice that the concrete and vernacular were missing drifting marks, so I added them to both signs.cars 2_Page_08.jpg

Leave a Reply

