M+P // Signs / Week 1

Found Signs Research

After we collected all our signs that we found around our environment, we had to choose around 10 and label them according to their category and type of sign:

After we created a library of signs on the wall, we started to discuss the different locations and types of signs we could use for our project. I used our class discussion as a starting point to what activity and audience I could make the signs for.

The first activity that came to mind when they wrote museums on the board, was a no touching art sign. Then I started to think about who would my audience be. The first thought was kids, since they always touch and play with anything they find or see. Then I thought of parents, because if the kids were really young they wouldn’t understand signs, so parents would need to know so they can tell their kids. I then started to think about Qatar, and how in these last couple of years, the museum culture grew, and there are plans to open a lot more museums and art galleries around Qatar. So I thought a good third audience would be young Qataris, who are new to the art scene, and might not know that you can’t touch the art.

No Touching Art Research

Another category that was mentioned in the discussion was traffic signs. That category then generated my next two activities, texting and driving, and drifting. They both happen a lot in Qatar, and I thought there weren’t that many signs for these actions. So I started to research them both.

For texting and driving, I found out a lot of statistics about the dangers of texting and driving, and I used the demographics in these statistics to choose my audience. I found that the 21-24 age group is most likely to text and drive, and that middle aged men are also most likely to text and drive, I found that men are 10% more likely to text and drive than women, 1 in 12 drivers in Doha use their phones while driving, and that 33% of US drivers from 18 – 64 also text and drive. So by using all this information, my three audiences were:

  • U.S. drivers aged 18 to 64
  • Qatari men in the 21 – 24 age group
  • Middle aged Qatari men

Through my drifting research, I only found memes that use the slippery road sign as the drifting sign. I also found out that drifting started in Japan, which I thought was just a thing that happened in the Gulf. This lead me to adding Japanese racers as an audience. As I continued researching, I found a lot more information about Saudi drifting, which was similar to Qatari drifting, but Saudis have a different name for it. So I separated them into two different audiences, 18 to 24 Qatari men, and 18 to 24 Saudi Men.

Because drifting didn’t have any signs, unlike the no touching art and the no texting and driving which had a lot of existing signs for them, I even found a campaign that the Ministry of Interior in Qatar made for preventing texting and driving. I thought that making the no drifting sign would be much more interesting, because it’s something that happens a lot in this region, but there aren’t any official signs that stop them from drifting. I choose the 18 to 24 Qatari men audience, because access to information about Qatar is more accessible to me, rather than Saudi Arabia or Japan.

No Texting & Driving Research

No Drifting Research

Leave a Reply

