Type I // Sentence / Week 1

We had to pick two nouns, two adjectives, two adverbs, and two verbs from a random pile. These are the words I got:

File_000.jpeg

Different Sentence Arrangements:

  • I seldom wander jubilantly around the studio advising my honorable and jovial wrist.
  • I jubilantly advise the studio to seldom wander around the jovial and honorable wrist.
  • My jovial and honorable wrist jubilantly advised my seldom wandering around the studio.
  • My jovial and honorable wrist jubilantly advised my seldom wander around the studio.
  • The jovial studio seldom advised the wandering wrist honorably and jubilantly.
  • The jovial wandering wrist studio seldom advised the honorable hand studio jubilantly.
  • The jovial and honorable wrist wandered jubilantly around and seldom advised the studio.

The best one was:

The jovial studio seldom advised the wandering wrist honorably and jubilantly.

Leland and Law suggested I use another noun instead of ‘wrist’. I picked ‘parrot’ from  the pile, so my final Latin sentence is:

The jovial studio seldom advised the wandering parrot honorably and jubilantly.

I then translated it into Arabic using Google translate. I looked up the definitions of some of the translated words to make sure they matched the meaning of the Latin words. I then fixed the tense of two words, and double checked if the sentence was grammatically correct.

Original Translation:

.الاستوديو بشوش نادرا ما ينصح الببغاء تجول بشرف وجذلا

Edited Translation:

.الاستوديو البشوش نادرا ما ينصح الببغاء المتجول بشرف وجذل

We were then given a list of different ways we can typeset our sentences. I used five different typefaces in Arabic & Latin. Because each typeface is typeset in the same way, I did it once and changed the fonts in the rest. The Arabic was all typeset the same, however for the Latin sentences, I changed some from regular to bold. I also changed the tracking from 50 to a 100 in some, because I felt it gave the reader more time to read and understand the sentence. Some of the things I noticed from the whole set is that the Arabic sentences look smaller, even though they were the same type size as the Latin. That Arabic is not legible when tracked under zero. Whereas the Latin is still legible even though the letters were very close to each other.

Some of the Arabic Typeset Sentences

Some of the Latin Typeset Sentences

Leave a Reply

